Zakat is a crucial pillar of Islam. It is a major teaching that raises awareness about the importance of helping those most vulnerable. It is the manifestation of ultimate selfishness, generosity, and social reformation. it is a cleansing process of the heart from greed and misery. Zakat is not just a charitable act; it is rather a duty where every Muslim has to give from their yearly earnings to the poor.

Zakat outputs

The Holly Quran mentions 8 Channels of spending Zakah: “Zakah expenditures are only for the poor and for the needy and for those employed to collect [zakah] and for bringing hearts together [for Islam] and for freeing captives [or slaves] and for those in debt and for the cause of Allah and for the [stranded] traveler – an obligation [imposed] by Allah. And Allah is Knowing and Wise. “[9:60].

Here is a brief description of each of these channels:

  1. The Poor
  2. The Needy
  3. Those employed to collect Zakah
  4. Bringing hearts together
  5. Freeing Captives
  6. Those in Debt
  7. The cause of Allah
  8. The TravTraveller

It is an obligation for every Muslim who has reached puberty, is of sound mind, and has above the minimum required amount of wealth (Nisaab). It means giving a calculated amount (usually 2.5%) to the poor and needy.

Fulfil this great pillar of Islam

Help those in need in Yemen